Seven Areas of Learning

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
This area looks at supporting children to develop a sense of themselves.

2. Physical Development
Children using their senses and bodies to explore the world around them and make connections between new and existing knowledge.

3. Communication and Language
Developing competence in listening and understanding and speaking.

4. Literacy
This area focuses on learning the skills needed for reading and writing.

5. Mathematics
Supporting a child’s understanding of numbers, calculating, shapes, space and measures.

6. Understanding the World
Developing the knowledge, skills and understanding to help them make sense of their world.

7. Expressive Arts and Design
Providing a range of opportunities, materials and media in which children express themselves and use their imaginations.